Vincent Archer

Vincent Archer

The Infinite Labyrinth

The Infinite Labyrinth
986 pages

(Book 1 "Shanghaied" & 2 "Shortcuts" now complete - Book 3 "Secrets" now on-going)

Georgian Era Steampunk alternate history meets litRPG!

For Jonas Sims, this is a great day in the summer of 1818, the occasion to have a peek at the coming and goings of the Professionals, those blessed ones who are able to travel the Zones of the Infinite Labyrinth, and share his wonder with his best friend.

For Jacques Deschanel, tier seven Professional, it is a great day, when the plans of his master Napoleon Bonaparte are coming to fruition, and a decisive blow is struck by the French Dominion against the British Empire.

For Amanda Cowen, Imposing Knight of the British Scouts, it is a terrible day where she finds that scoring a victory does not win a battle, let alone a war, for which she was not supposed to be on the frontlines.


For nearly twenty years since they've opened, the Gilded Gates of the Infinite Labyrinth have brought power and wonders to the subjects of King George III. Fueled by the resources from the place beyond the Gates, the modern age is in full swing across the British Empire. Crystal marvels adorn the streets of London while Aether-powered Skyships patrol the skies. But today, the Gate slams closed, and the Empire tetters on the brink of destruction.


And so, for six people that were in the wrong place at the wrong time, their life crumble. What replaces it is the endless perspective of being a Professional, acquiring extraordinary Skills, strange Items and seeing their potential grow with each trial. It is up to them to turn misfortune into achievement, to find themselves, and to break the stalemate. Even if no one counts on them, they have to push forward, because now, there is no longer any turning back to their old selves.


They have to find their peers, and break open the barriers.



The Infinite Labyrinth is a litRPG that explores different takes of some themes from my main series, Silvergates. It's a hard, crunchy litrpg. Expect blue boxes everywhere, and the system itself is very mathy and ripe for optimization (I use a spreadsheet and a wiki to give me the details - warning, spoilers if you haven't caught up to the current story chapter).

It started life as a serial. I prepared good worldbuilding, with enough details and background for lots of different potential story arcs, but as I wrote, I realized the main story needs to have a definitive end. So, there are four or five books, depending on how the story goes.

The publication is going to be irregular, as I'm writing part-time. I'll try to have at least one chapter a week.

The Gore tag was added because there are a few scenes with some light gore.

View Page
Silvergates: Northworld (Book 1 complete)

Silvergates: Northworld (Book 1 complete)
440 pages

Five years ago, the first Silvergate was found. At first, they called it a hoax. But since then, more and more people have entered the alternate dimension called Northworld, received their Interface, and going on to real adventures. As it gained momentum, they called it a problem. Now, they call it a crime. But for nearly a half a million people, it's now their real home.

Yearning. Escape. Duty. The reasons to go are many. Despite the criminalization of the Silvergating, people still seek out their ticket to Northworld.

But for new Gaters Jasper Hill, Erika Haglund, Henry Esteban, Northworld has surprises in store. Not every rumor are false, not every conspiracy theory is stupid. When the veil lift for them, showing truths about Northworld that no one suspected, they may have a hard time making themselves heard.

And being trusted may mean the difference between life or exile forever.

Northworld is a litrpg story where people enter an actual world, submit to an RPG-type Interface, and discover an alternate reality. You could describe it as a reversible Isekai since people alternate between Earth and Northworld.

The characters are usually casual about it, which means casual talk and the not-infrequent profanity. Four letter words dropped in conversation (or internal monologue).

Warning: one potentially horrible theme and one implied sex scene.

Book 1 is complete, as the title says. Book 2 is expected to start early 2020.

View Page
Recruit - An Infinite Labyrinth prequel

Recruit - An Infinite Labyrinth prequel
82 pages

A prequel to The Infinite Labyrinth.

The year is 1816. The British Empire is in full swing, under the auspices of King George III. The Infinite Labyrinth has been pouring out its product from beyond our reality and fostered a new industrial revolution. Times are changing, and the people of London are feeling the winds of the revolution while British Professionals push into the Labyrinth.

The newly formed Artefact Hunting Company is looking for recruits, and they have new technology to help them. From the slums of London, they aim to recruit a new wave of Professionals. And make Zacharias and the Earl of Carnavon lots of money.

So, for Rowan Rivers and a handful of lucky ones, it's time to head into the Labyrinth, and discover what makes it different from England. And what makes THEM different?

Recruit is a bunch of chapters I wrote to create to the setting, mood, and game systems of the Infinite Labyrinth. It is NOT a complete story in the classic sense. It's more of a slice of life view of early days of a normal Professional from the Infinite Labyrinth, and it's heavy on info-dump. It's 90% canon - there's probably a bit of a difference between how some characters and common behaviour are portrayed here and how they'll come out in the main story.

Set two years before the events that kick-start the main series, it features some of the secondary/peripheral characters of the Infinite Labyrinth and will tell you all about the basic mechanics of the Labyrinth's RPG system. It can be considered a spoiler, as the characters in the Infinite Labyrinth are going to need to figure out all that, on their own. But if you like a much deeper exposition in the mechanics, here it is.

The entire prequel is about 80 pages long.

View Page