Pigeon's desk

Lesson 1: Dialogue

Prompt (specific version): John and Teresa are having a conversation while working on a school group project. In 500 words, convey to the reader that John is "disciplined" and Teresa is "good-natured". Do not use the word "disciplined" or "good-natured" (or any variants) in the piece.

Hello, I'm very new to writing, I'm trying to write my own fiction but it's very hard!

Pieces of the accused littered the floor. John had hurried down the hall and his worries were confirmed when he spotted Teresa already at work.

"What do you think you're doing?" he demanded, somewhat out of breath.

"I'm getting us a head start" Teresa replied nonchallently. She seemed of expected John to turn up. "You know you'd have to do this anyway, if I can get one to confess today then you get the entire weekend off".

"Thats not the point of this project Teresa... There's an order to these things you know, you can't just start doing your own thing. How many centeries do you think it took to hone and polish the ordeals?".

Teresa begrudgingly put down her knife and turned to face him.

"You want to do all the ordeals one by one in order?", she countered.

"Yes. It's what we were taught, what you're doing now is going to make us fail. You're probably going to get thrown in the pit if they ever find out what you've done, and you're not doing that any favours either. It'll probably take even longer for it to confess now".

John watched as Teresa's eyes sank to the floor.

"Why are you doing this?" he asked.

She mumbled somthing he couldn't quite hear.

"What?".

"Because it's your birthday tommorow..." She replied. Her gaze still glued to her feet.

John closed his eyes and rubbed the deepening crease in his forhead. He wasn't sure how she had found out about his birth date or why didn't seem to care about the pit, but the anger that had been building up was no longer there.

"What ordeal were you on?".

She glanced upwards, light in her almost teary eyes.