Paragraph Length

I love this place now that I've found it and whilst I'm new to Royal Road, I am not new to publishing. I don't know what books people have been reading away from their computers, but paragraph length seems to be the complaint about my writing thus far and I'm finding it a little frustrating. I have never before read a book that has paragraphs as short as I've seen here, nor has anyone before I arrived here commented upon the length of my own. Is this a matter of reading on the web being different from a book? Input would be gratefully received.

Collection in question is Summonitores Libro.

Re: Paragraph Length

Your paragraphs are definitely too long. A good rule of thumb is to keep them to no more than four lines on a computer screen unless it's absolutely essential. Break them up with some shorter ones too, so it's not just a block of equally sized sections.

For instance, this final section from november 1991 part 2 (currently a single paragraph); I'd break it up like so:

Quote:My father had always stressed to me, typically when commenting on my school work, that if something sounds or looks important, it probably is. His instruction, bolstered by twenty years of experience in the police, wading through undulant swamp in search of gold, was to write everything down. In the absence of pen and paper, repeat it over and over again until you can recite everything you have seen or heard, backwards.

I could feel his influence, and just for a moment, his hands on my shoulders. It felt like pressure to speak up. I needed to better understand what I was doing at Victoria House.

My gaze left the violence of the weather and my eyes browsed the hall for Mrs Tapscott. She was standing beside the bearded man, who was wearing a coat, as if he were ready to leave the safety of the building. I heard him say, 'I'll be back soon' before he left.