Alexthymia and military use in writing

I have seen several stories where Alexthymia is used, most often as part of the MC.
I have suffered from Alexthymia all my life, and that said would be pleased to offer any insight a writer might need to bring it out into the light and give it the feel that it has irl. From my pov I cannot think of anything worse to happen to a person than Alexthymia. It is not a psych issue. It is neurological and there is for all purpose no treatment.

Second I am a retired combat vet with 32 years split between the US Army, IDF and private sector.  And I would again be please to offer any insight I can into military life, tactics, weapons use and effects etc.

I want nothing return.  Expect maybe help on what I am writing.

Re: Alexthymia and military use in writing

In terms of combined arms Opertaions. Does the Colonel or Battalion Commander take command of Armor, Infantry and Air all at once? Or is that task given to other Officers? I'm about to go into a big war in my story and I'm still having a bit of problem understanding the Table of Orginzation of Calvarly and Combined Arms Bridges. 

There's also the thing with Brigade Combat Teams. How many types are there? I know there's Infantry and Armored Brigade Combat Teams but does Logistics or Air Bridge Combat Teams exist? 

Do you have any info on who the General usually talks to in coordinating Theater large Operations other than his Colonels and other Generals?

Re: Alexthymia and military use in writing

ArchiveOfStories Wrote: In terms of combined arms Opertaions. Does the Colonel or Battalion Commander take command of Armor, Infantry and Air all at once? Or is that task given to other Officers? I'm about to go into a big war in my story and I'm still having a bit of problem understanding the Table of Orginzation of Calvarly and Combined Arms Bridges.