How to write about something i have never experience?

Hi...

I'm an aspiring writer but I haven't been writing in months. Recently, I have this story idea rolling around in the back head but I am hesitant to go for it as it's would be about something I know nothing about except surface knowledge. I really like the idea but I'm bit of a perfectionist and I would go crazy if it do not turn out how i want it to. So should i take the chance or give it up. 

Re: How to write about something i have never experience?

To Google with you!
...no, really. In years past I would have said library, but the internet at this point is just a giant library you don't have to go outside for.
If it's something regarding a person or people, or experiences certain humans have, ask around in forums and see if one of those humans will share thoughts and feelings with you.
If it's something historical or technical, read through the Wikipedia article, then scroll to the bottom and look through all the references listed for more stuff on the subject. Ask here, or on other forums, for explanation on details you don't fully understand. There's always one expert on an obscure topic who would be THRILLED that you ask.
But yeah, always take the chance! Learning new stuff is always good, and even if you fail you'll be a smarter person for it.
Good luck! DrakanWine

Worthy Wrote: What if it's not historically based but modern urban? As well as about a different culture or mixed culture?