Comments, Reviews and a smattering of existential crisis

Hello everyone,

Having had enough time to thoroughly peruse the forums and topics that are discussed, I'm left with a few questions.

I primarily joined this site out of idle curiosity and a philanthropic desire to attempt to support new writers (I have zero editing experience. I'm not an accomplished writer. I don't teach English language or literature... but I sure as heck enjoy reading! That counts for something right?).

There seems to be a large disconnect between new writers desperately desiring immediate feedback and readers on here preferring to wait for a considerable amount of content before they'll even consider reading it... much less commenting/reviewing. This doesn't bother me personally - I write for fun and have no intention of ever publishing. I thought that maybe I could stick to my initial plan of helping new writers by showing new support so I left a couple of reviews on new releases that had 3-5 chapters posted.

I don't teach English but I do teach teenagers so I approached this by assuming that I had no idea which writers were ESL or minors and was as supportive and constructive as possible. All fiction was praised, any criticism was constructive and mainly related to either grammar or improving understanding of events. I wrote nothing unless I would be confident enough to say it to a beaming 11 year old's face.

But the works I made comments on have now been deleted and I worry that maybe I've dealt a finishing blow to these writers before they've even had chance to flourish. Is this a common occurrence? 

What star rating is considered a death blow on here? I had assumed that 3* was simply average (and also made it clear that I would always update ratings as works improved) - is that not the case?

Are comments from strangers, however well intentioned, not actually welcome?

Thank you all!

Re: Comments, Reviews and a smattering of existential crisis