Re: Should authors also read and/or review fictions?

The question ^^

As an author, I always freeze up if I want to write an honest review that is anything less than 100% stellar. Which honestly, if I were to give my own fiction an honest rating, it would be like, 3 or 4 stars (at least until I finish the edits haha). To a lesser extent, I think before every comment, is this okay for author Kieran to say? 

What should an author do...  All honest reviews? Only positive reviews? Only 3+ star reviews? (Personally, almost everything is 3+ stars to me and nothing is ever sub 2 stars.)
Is it a good idea for authors to interact with other fictions on their author account, or should they have a separate account for reading on RR?

i have also pondered on this question for a while
i prefer to write things that make everybody smile
while i value honesty and feedback i can use
it'd make me sad to hurt somebody with my views

i like leaving feedback here, when authors come and ask
that way it's a more relaxing and straightforward task
maybe once i've gained a little confidence to judge
i'll start leaving ratings without fear of someone's grudge

DrakanSweat

I've had the same dilemma. My solution to it was simple. When I did review swaps, I always said that I would officially post reviews that are 3.5 stars or up. For anything below that, I would PM the author with my points and wouldn't rate the story officially at all (unless the author insisted on me posting it). I believe that like that the author gets a chance to correct their work without the burden of dropping down the ranking. It might be unfair but, in my opinion, if the work is really that much of a garbage, there are always more than enough people who would gladly shoot it a 1-2 star ratings. You can call me a coward or a soft-hearted idiot but I sympathize with my fellow authors and I like giving them a chance to improve without crushing the future of their work.