Re: How Much Such I Store Up Before I Post?

Hello everyone! I made this account a while back, but it's only recently that I've found the inspiration and motivation to sit down and start writing a story. I've only got about 4300 words so far. I'm not sure whether to post anything yet or not, however. My dilemma is this: I am actually hoping, on the long shot chance that I gain a following, to attempt to make a side hustle out of web novel writing. I've read that some people suggest you build up a bit of a nesting egg of chapters before you start posting, so at the beginning you can release every day or every couple of days to hook readers. At the same time, I'm new to fiction writing and would appreciate the comments and reviews I could gain by putting my first chapter out there, but then my second chapter might not come out for another week, especially since I am also looking for more surefooted work, and doing a course in TESOL at the same time. I also feel that I want to know if my readers even like my first chapter and my story idea before I spend too much time writing a dud when I could have been doing something else.

How have you all approached the releasing of a new web novel, and what is your advice?

Thank you,
Puren

If you want to give it a serious shot, build up a backlog. A serious backlog. Publish like it's your full-time job, throw up as much as all the ones who do write full time. The only way to do this is to come in prepared. Before posting anything, you have all the time in the world to prepare, so have as much ready as possible. 4,3k words are nothing. It's 1-2 chapters. That's 2 days worth of posting. You need to post for weeks before you get anywhere, months even. Backlog is key. I and many others who "made it" had a backlog and come into this treating it like a job from day 1 when it came to posting.