Re: Any tips on writing an action scene with magic?

I am a newbie in writing as I just started around a few weeks ago. So here is the scene: After 1 hour it was my turn to fight Paul. I entered the arena. I decided to use Paul as a guinea pig on an experimental spell combo that I thought of earlier.
 After the start was signaled, I used shadow bind to restrict his movements and used paralyze to stop him from struggling away. Then I immediately threw a water ball which soaked his whole body then I casually walked towards him and used spark to render him unconscious.

This is just a draft since I don't know if it is good or not and need tips for this scene. 
So the MC does not need any equipment to help him cast spells since all he needs to do is concentrate and think of the spell he wants to cast while the opponent needs a staff to cast spells. 

Wow, nice start. I'm always happy to see a new author on the platform. Take what I say with a grain of salt, I'm not the perfect writer.  

Here is a list of feedback:

1--> one. Generally small numbers are written out. 

The scene could be more powerful if you showed the characters emotions. For example, you could show how the character feels while they are waiting for the fight to start. Are they nervous? Excited? Hungry? 

In the same vein, how does the character feel after winning the fight? 

It could be helpful to provide a short description of the arena. As it is now the characters are just floating in empty space. I have nothing to go off of to build a picture of the environment. 

Describe what Shadow Bind is. How does it restrict his movements and what does it look like. Same goes for the other spells. What exactly is Paralyze? Is it a glowing donut of energy or a lightning bolt? I haven't the faintest clue. (If you previously went into detail describing the spells, disregard my comment).

How do the spell's affect the Paul and the environment? Action -> Reaction.