Re: Is there space for fiction that is not lit RPG or fantasy?

Hi everyone! I am a new author here. I mainly write  short stories in the horror and dystopian fiction genre. I am planning on transitioning into longer length Novellas/Novels in the future and I'm just wondering if this is the best place to post my genre of work? I see a lot of fantasy / lit RPG doing well here, which is not my expertise.

Does anyone else write in this genre?  is this the best place to gather an audience? Anyone know what the general demographics are for RR readers?  

Thank you!

aproyal Wrote: Thanks so much for the tip! Nice to meet you :)

Is there a lot of interest in short stories or are readers mainly geared towards longer fiction pieces, in your opinion?

the system of RR really lends itself more to long stories than it does short stories.

But there is not really any harm in posting it here as well as other places, so I'd say just post it regardless and advertise it in the forums, as that is probably your best bet for finding an audience for short stories here.

I also read Sci-fi, there are some good ones here and they are faring well.

But yes, the heart of the audience here is looking for: 1 LitRPG, 2 Dungeon 3 Fantasy. If you are doing something else, your reader base will shrink and getting exposure will take more time and effort. 
Whereas the same horror story with LitRPG in its title will quickly get views. ^^

Wish you the best, I believe there is an audience for horror too and that given time and effort you will find them.

There's definitely room for other types of fiction. I write dystopian drama in space (that will eventually carry some science fantasy elements). I'm not popular, but I get views, followers, a few comments, and have ended up on some favorite lists.

If you write consistently, write a good summary, and engage in the community, the people looking for a story like yours will find it.