Re: What do you prefer more in the fantasy? A fast-moving plot with a lot of action or a slow story with worl (...)

Hello! I am a fantasy author here on RR, and I myself like a lot slowly moving stories with lots of world building, character development, actions and other stuff.

What would you choose a novel with 1000+ chapters with everything from above where reader travels with MC from his 1st step to the last, showing how he trained grew and did other stuff or a short, but quick story around 600-700 chapters, filled with action, where many things that happened to MC are omitted and with the minimum amount of worldbuilding?

Re: What do you prefer more in the fantasy? A fast-moving plot with a lot of action or a slow story with worl (...)

I'm biased because the story I'm writing falls onto the slower side of things, but slower, gradual stories. I think you can develop things more, and I'm okay with slower, worldbuilding or character developing chapters. There's a line, where it's tedious reading about six chapters of a character doing their laundry, which is what you risk when you go too long, but I still generally prefer longer, slower stories. 

I've noticed that a lot of readers on here expect fantasy stories to be much faster paced.
Both types of stories have their pros and cons.  I write a slow paced story so I can only talk about that.
Cons of Slow Paced Stories
A) people less likely to leave a review because they need to read much farther in
B) People less likely to stick with the story, so if you do a slower story with more worldbuilding, your story needs to be much more solid and requires a much higher grasp on writing skills
However there are pros to slower stories
A)Much more in-depth plots. People that stick around for longer stories live for that stuff.