Re: Hey guys! :D

The names Heather.  peohello  

I'm new to Royal Road and I've posted 3 chapters so far. No reviews yet (fingers crossed). My book is a Science Fantasy. Action and Romance included. It's the first book of a series, and I hope to one day publish it traditionally. Any feedback is always welcomed! 

One question: I read on the FAQ that daily updates help when posting a new book for exposure? Is this true?? For how long should a writer do this?? My book is already completed offline, so posting every day doesn't bother me.

Welcome! Regarding daily updates, it's really about getting up on the front page under the 'Latest Updates' section, which serves as free advertising for your story. However it also helps your readers connect to your story as you have something to lure them back to you every day. As for how long you should do it, well that's up to you and your story. Some people only do it for a few chapters, until the ball gets rolling. Other writers do daily updates forever. Go with whatever pace you think is personally manageable DrakanMelt

Thanks for the help!  peolove

I'll be checking the latest update page frequently! Like a hawk. There's just so much to learn LOL.

I guess my second biggest concern is my book dropping off the radar if I continue a daily update. I've only got 40 chapters so that will run out fast. Or do completed books get more exposure here? 

Welcome. I've seen some people say drop a chapter a day for the first week, then slow it down to a couple a week. That gets people hooked whilst also prolonging the time you'll appear on the recently updated list. I posted twice a week, one in an early time slot one in a late, but my fiction is small (but I'm happy with how it did) so I don't know how sound this advice actually is.

I hope you enjoy RR and your fiction finds an audience.

Welcome to Royal Road!