Re: Is it good idea to test first chapters for feedback?

I really need feedback but I'm still total noob in royalroad.

Is it normal to post chapter 1 and 2 with a placeholder title without cover just to get some feedback?

or should I do it somewhere else and only post finished product in here?

Is it normal to edit after pressing the submit button, or is it a length process and is not recommended.

or is it better to just resubmit after getting confidence about my first initial chapters?

thank you for answering.
peoapproval

Using RR just as a test site likely won't yield anything for you; I believe the majority of readers find new stories off of Trending, Latest Updates, or from favorites lists, and the majority prefer to wait for a story to have a substantial amount of content before they read. Unless you get vocal in the writing assistance forum, you probably won't get any interaction by just posting the handful of chapters, especially if you don't have a cover. But by no means does your story have to be finished to start posting; I think that generally it's good to have a backlog of chapters ready to submit so you can post consistently and frequently (think something along the lines of 1-3 chapters per 1-2 days) to maximize the time your story shows up on New Releases and Latest Updates. The algorithm for getting on Trending is beyond my understanding, but I know it's related to reader interaction, length of the story, and story age. 

If you decide to post and want to drum up critiques, I would suggest asking around the Reviewing; Tips & Discussion or Writing Tips forums. Also, Lone's Guide to Building Traction is phenomenal. 

As a reader only, I can't speak for how often authors go back and edit chapters, or how often they end up scrapping and restarting a story entirely.