Re: Discussing accents and dialects in character dialogue, advice??

I am by no means an expert writer. And while I have been writing for as long as I can remember I have gotten to the point in my life where I want to start putting my work out there. ((Not entirely relevant)) 

What I mean is that while I am not brand new to writing and do consider myself to be rather good when I feel like boasting I am still learning quite a lot, and probably always will. 

As of right now I am in search of, not necessarily advice-advice but more like thoughts and experiences with writing character accents and the such. I have been researching on my own for quite a while there is a lot of good advice out there, its not exactly what im looking for. 

A bit of info: the story I am working on is a complete work of fiction. Its also a high fantasy, but I'm doing my best to keep it original because that is what I want to write. This story is more for myself than anyone else, so I am not too concerned about some aspects (with dialogue) being a little -- overwhelming? I think is some of the advice I saw out there. Example; there were some points that a thick or heavy accent constantly being typed out can be overwhelming for both the writer and reader. While I can completely agree and understand, that is not my concern. 

Also, what ever accents I employ will not wholely be any earthly accents either. What I'm looking for most is somewhat complex I suppose but here is the gist.