Re: Choose your weapon!

So let's say that you have to pick up an ancient weapon to learn and fight, which one will be your pick? (One long-range and one close-range)

First of all, I'm no professional, so I choose only by how cool it looks and guessing how effective it would be (mostly how cool is it)  Peopew

Long-range: Chu Ko Nu (Because it's a crossbow with quick reload speed! What else we need to say!)
Close-range: Khopesh (Because common, it's cool! Probably I'll stab myself by trying to learn how to use it, but totally worth it, to die by a cool weapon in the hands of a weapon idiot)

So, pick your weapon!

Long range, a sling, definitely. It's light, relatively cheap, very powerful, and ammo is just laying around on the ground waiting for me to pick it up. The only real drawback is that it takes a long time to learn. 

Close-range, probably something like a staff or sword, possibly halberd. But I'm partial to staffs. I won't be robbed for my fancy super expensive weapon, it's easily replacable, and they look harmless so I probably won't stand out anywhere. Plus I could combine the sling and the staff into a staff sling. Staff slings are truly ridiculous, it's like a tiny portable siege weapon that can handle ammo the size of small cannon balls and fire with nearly as much force as cannons, too. 

EDIT: An axe would be a close second, though. It's a versatile tool in addition to a decent weapon. 

In fantasy world you probably could infuse your arrow with magic and then shoot it with your bow. So...
Long-range: Bow. I like bows in games! Far Cry, Crysis 3, ARK: Survival Evolved, etc.

But if close-combat is about to happen, it is better to use a melee weapon. And the simplest choice is...
Close-range: short sword/dagger. Also, you can use it in survival.

Long Range, Im having hard time choose between a throwing knives / shuriken or a crossbow (not the usual bow because I don't know how to use it.)