Re: Writers, how much do you read?

Fuchsia Wrote: I've seen a few writers over here say that since writing, they no longer read, which I find crazy..

I honestly haven't read much since I graduated school. Something kinda broke in my head between childhood and adulthood and now I can't seem to hold my attention on anything for extended periods of time unless it's something I'm writing. I used to be able to chew books up in like a day or two cuz I found the written word so damn entertaining, but nowadays, I have trouble sitting down to watch a movie or something.

The last book I read all the way through was Little Witch Academia: The Nonsensical Witch and the Country of the Fairies which is very clearly for children and it's really really short. I mostly did it to try and force myself to actually start reading again, but I failed miserably.

Other than that, I've been inching my way through Thedude3445's Hands Held in the Snow and CitizenSamurai's Humiliation of a Samurai but I'm struggling between balancing life, my own work, and the other tons of media I still have to consume.

I think my lack of reading shows itself in my admittedly still amateur-ish writing. I really should start reading more again, but I have a really hard time finding stories that interest me and the attention span to actually finish them. Nowadays, I get most of my story inspiration from video games, anime, and film, which is cool for broad ideas, but terrible for anything in the written word.

Fuchsia Wrote: I've seen a few writers over here say that since writing, they no longer read, which I find crazy.. 

DrakanFascinating