Re: I need advice for dialog/character thoughts and formating

Okay, so I'm new to writing. The book I'm working on will be my first major approach to writing a significant work. I'm writing the novel in 3rd person limited and I'm having trouble sorting out the dialog and thoughts of the character(s). I feel there has to be a better option than sticking "he thought", "he concluded", "he surmised" at the end or having the dialog happen in a paragraph.  I'm experimenting with having the thoughts italicized on their own line but then I don't know how to fit the dialog in without also giving it its own line, leading to a conversation taking up multiple pages. Any help would be greatly appreciated!   

I'm aware of three common methods to handle internal monologue.

==========
#1: Don't have any. For this option, just include the PoV character's thoughts as part of the narrative. Most of their thoughts will be part of the narrative anyway, so this one isn't a big change.

When Fred checked his wallet, the lottery ticket was gone. How in the world was he going to explain that?

==========
#2: Treat it like dialogue, but italicized rather than quoted. I feel this one works best when you use internal monologue rarely, and the reader might need a prompt to remember why a sentence is italicized.

When Fred checked his wallet, the lottery ticket was gone. How am I going to explain this? he thought to himself.

==========
#3: Italicized like #2, but without the dialogue tags. I feel this one works better if you have more frequent internal monologue.

When Fred checked his wallet, the lottery ticket was gone.

How am I going to explain this?

==========
Whatever option you choose, don't go overboard with internal monologue. Most of the PoV character's thoughts should be relayed as part of the narrative instead. Only include internal monologue when you feel something is truly relayed better that way.

Quote: