Re: The Evolution of Money

WHAT IS THIS ABOUT?

As an economist, I'm painfully familiar that people in my field can be downright horrible at explaining concepts and ideas. Often, we're too caught up in the abstract and not focused enough on practicality, assuming a level of knowledge in our audience that ... probably isn't correct for the layman? As a writer, I'm painfully familiar with bad economics in stories.

This guide is meant to give you a quick and dirty breakdown on why we have money today, how we got here, the different systems we used before we got here, and the reasons we got here. It is by no means exhaustive, but I think a useful starting point for people interested in the study, or at least for an author who doesn't want to spend several hours and bottles of vodka trying to figure it out.

Why Barter?

Barter is, in essence, trading. Trade is like a magic wand. It turns what you have, into what you want (when it works).

Barter comes up intuitively whenever people need to cooperate, and cooperation is essential to the formation of the most basic of societies.

I have a cow, you make spears. I want a spear and you want a cow, so we make a trade.

This is essentially the basis of all economics, the conversion of what I have to what I want. Everything else? It’s just making this trade easier.

Why Money (Coinage)?

Barter has problems.

What if I feel my cow is worth ten spears, but you only have nine?
What if I only want one spear?
What if you don’t want a cow, but that’s all I have to trade with?

We, as a society, might decide to set up a system where we have a bunch of IOUs to solve all these problems. Wouldn’t that be neat? But then, it’d be a pain in the ass to record all of these transactions and we may or may not be literate… So what if we had a “token” of some sort to represent the IOU instead?

And we could exchange those IOUs for goods and services with anyone in our society who recognizes it?