Re: Looking for a Few Good (or Bad!) Hooks

I'm teaching a class* on hooking your audience tomorrow for my workshop. I usually have examples for the students to analyze and possibly rework. It's also the first of my lectures for the semester and I'll be telling them about Royal Road, too. 

If anyone wants to offer up their work for sacrifice charity, I'll take up to three of your hooks and we'll see what we have time for. If they have anything I consider an improvement I'll pass it back on. So if you're particularly proud of a hook (at the beginning or even the middle of a book), or you have one you don't like but want to make better, I'd be interested in looking at it.

(* Note: it's not a credited course. I'm a guest lecturer, not a professor. Just adding that because it's caused problems before elsewhere.) 

Interesting. My hooks are fairly generic ones for LitRPG or isekai, but I'll share them.

Quote:In a realm conquered by demons, an old sorceress manages to perform a ritual that sends her knowledge and memories back in time to her 16-year-old self. The demon's invasion has just begun but she is a relatively unknown magical acolyte and must use her knowledge covertly as she knows some of the most powerful people in the realm, including members of her own order, have turned traitor.

- This is for Unto the Breach, my most popular story with 3k followers. It reached rank 60 on Best Rated.

Quote:After being diagnosed with a rare brain parasite, Christine agrees to a radical and intensive treatment. While the doctors remove her infected neural tissue and attempt to regrow it, her consciousness is placed in Penumbra, a simulated fantasy world intended to amuse and relax her. As soon as she enters, things go wrong. Christine loses contact with the outside world and encounters doppelgangers of herself who attempt to hunt her down.