Re: B.A. Tucker's Comprehensive Guide to Dialogue Tags

Hey everyone! I've been a member of this community for actually about a year now (new account, I wanted a new username to tie my own project to) and I've been writing and critiquing for almost 4 years now. Always as a hobby, I am by no means a professional.

One of the biggest complaints I have as someone who does critiques, especially for new writers, is nowhere near enough narration. I usually see people diagnosing the issue by offering up synonyms for the word "said" in their dialogue tags. I see it on reddit.com/r/rwriting all the time and in other writing communities. This is diagnosing and treating a symptom of the problem, not the actual problem itself, which is a lack of variety in the types of tags being used. I think this is because a lot of new writers don't know how to use the other dialogue tags, or when they should be used.

A lot of new writers only use the Standard Dialogue Tag (He/She/They/Name said/exclaimed/asked/muttered...). This tag is fine if the words matter more than the thoughts or actions of the characters. You've got to convey information to your reader (or the other characters) and this is how you do it.

But there are instances where the emotions, thoughts, and actions of your characters matter just as much (or more so) than the words they are speaking. And trust me "yelled" just doesn't cut it as a tag. Has someone told you that your writing does too much telling and not enough showing? Well buckle your seatbelts folks, because I am about to teach you how to show through dialogue tagging!

Narrative Dialogue Tags