Re: Professional Editor Interested in Reading Good Stories

Hello, everyone. I've been lurking for a couple of months, poking around and learning all your secrets. :) I finally started posting in the forum, which means I really should do an intro post. 

I'm a professional freelance editor, mostly SF&F. I started eleven years ago as a temporary gig and basically never left. I also teach an extracurricular creative writing workshop at a private college (which means I'm a guest lecturer, not a professor, so don't get the wrong impression). I am, at this point, not looking for editing gigs, so I'm not trying to sell anything. I do love teaching, though, so I might wander around giving advice as life allows. 

I only recently took an interest in webnovel publishing. I stumbled across some stories recently while doing a general search for something else and realized I'd been ignoring something very large. Ten years ago, I ignored self-publishing as a hack business, fit only for those who couldn't write a real story; now it's the heart and soul of not only SF&F as a genre, but also I've only worked with self-pub authors for the past several years. Publishing has changed drastically in just a decade, and the more I look at webnovels the more I'm having flashbacks to ten years ago. I'm not saying that this form of publishing is going to be the next big thing, but you have all proven that it's viable not only as a business, but as a medium for improving your art. From a professional standpoint, I am impressed