Re: What do you do when you suddenly can't write?

Hi there! I'm Lavy. The title should be self-explanatory enough. What do you do when you suddenly can't write?

It's not a writer block where you just don't have any idea of what to write. It's more of suddenly losing your writing ability. I have written stories starting when I was little. Though I mostly wrote for myself, the people around me said I'm a good writer and I could make a decent novel if I ever try. I'm not trying to brag here. But in terms of writing, I'm pretty confident with myself.

It's just that there would be times when I just can't write. I already have the idea and plot in mind, all the conversations the characters would have and how the story would flow. I have it in my mind and I just need to write it down. But in that particular time, I just found myself unable to type a single good sentence. I can't find a good word to describe the situation I had in mind nor can I compose a good enough word composition. Everything is just a complete mess. I feel like I'm back at being a noob where I can't even differentiate between verb and adjective. It's like all the vocabulary I've learned throughout the years have suddenly disappeared from my mind.

It frustrated me so much because when this happens, I can't continue the story I currently write until my writing ability comes back again. And this will only happen after months have passed. The feelings I had from the story have disappeared already. And I just can't continue it anymore.

Moreover, whenever I had this really good idea that I wanted to write, I just can't. The same feeling as wanting to explain yourself but couldn't because you don't know how to. It annoys me to death. I don't know what to do!

If you ever experienced something like this too, please help me! I'm feeling desperate right now!

Yep, this happens to me all the time too.

Fortunately, there’s an easy solution, and this part of your post gets to the root of the problem: