Re: First-time Fiction Writer

Hello Royals! I'm a brand new writer and I just joined your community.

I'm writing a short story (my first) and I'd love to really tough criticism, or even some fresh ideas and perspective, on what I've done so far. I would hate to invest a ton of time only to realize when I'm done that I've written thousands of words of hot, wet garbage.

Specifically, I'd love to hear some feedback on:
  • Large-scale structure
  • Plot
  • World-building
  • Readability and Pacing
  • Thoughts on the MC and supporting characters
My biggest fear is that I'm not unloading enough conflict. I don't want the story to feel boring because I'm doing too much building and scene-setting.

Additionally, I'm worried that I'm not portraying my MC's traits, personality, and reasoning very well. While I plan to show off the "real" him later on in some dramatic situations, I don't want to be one of those writers accused of writing a "blank slate" character. I intentionally left out details of the MCs PHYSICAL description, but EMOTIONALLY I want the reader to feel like they know just what he's going to do and why he's going to do it.

Anyway, I'm sure you get these kind of posts constantly, so I sincerely apologize if I'm using these threads in the wrong fashion. And lastly, the more specific and critical, the better! My friends keep telling me stuff like "it's so good" and "wow, so creative" but that doesn't help me improve and streamline the story.

Thank you so much!
Wormlord13

EDIT: I didn't know what I was doing when I uploaded my chapters, so the first chapter on my page is the one with the picture of a dark tavern and the second chapter is the one with the swamp-like pic with the boat. I hope that's helpful...

Heya!

First off, you'd probably want to post something like this in the Reviewing subforum. There's loads of people there looking for feedback and critical swaps!