Re: Ratings?

Hi, I have been writing on here for three months now keeping myself to myself. I have had a good number of views of my work and have been encouraged by this.
Today I got my first rating and my second rating quickly after it. Yay! 

My first rating was a 1.5 and I was slightly disappointed at this but this is my first try at writing and I acknowledge I still have a lot to learn. It is good that someone has rated it. As there were no comments with the rating I was a bit disgruntled as I want to know how to improve.

Shortly after this rating I got a new rating of 5! averaging me to 3.25. I am at a loss now to understand how this can be. I am determined not to get hung up on ratings as I have always told myself I am writing for me. Any explanation of these ratings would be warmly welcome.

Any further reviews of my work would be much appreciated. I came on here to learn and am hungry for feedback. I would be happy to review swap over xmas if anyone wishes just drop me a message.

Thanks Sincil (you can call me Mike)

What do you want to do ?
New mailCopy

What do you want to do ?
New mailCopy

Well, there are a few possibilities.
Perhaps the 5-star rating is from someone who genuinely enjoyed your story. Which is entirely possible even if another thought it was pretty bad. Tastes are very diverse. 

So is how someone rates a story when they rate. Some try to be as 'fair' as they can be. I mean, it is always still subjective to a degree, but if they give you a 2.5 or 3 stars, they simply want to say that they found your story was average. So if a reader like that gave you 1.5 stars they probably just want to imply that you have an average story with quite a few flaws.

Then there are Readers who see 2.5 stars as stating the story was bad and not enjoyable to read. 1.5 stars would be nearly utter trash for them and 0.5... another user in another thread called giving 0.5 stars here 'physically assaulting the author in a dark alleyway'.^^