Re: Anybody wants to talk PHYSICS?

I'm a physics undergrad, about to take the General Physics III exam, also called Modern Physics.
I was wondering if anybody was up for some nerdy chat, maybe ask a couple questions and put me through the wringer. I do love to reply to idiotically complex questions, because they give me inspiration and motivation to study new topics and dig up information. Also, it will help me prepare for the exam better.

I'll wait here, don't make me feel too alone!

Don't worry, it's actually my university choice to split the two up. We did special relativity back with physics 1, then I skipped physics 2 because I'm a moron, and physics 3 is basically the failure of classical physics and the birth of quantum mechanics.

Next semester I'll have a look at both general relativity and quantum mechanics much more in depth, with dedicated exams and all.

As for your question... Why do I feel like there's a trap hidden somewhere? My quick answer would be that the centripetal acceleration must be provided by the gravitational force. Therefore using Newtonian mechanics we have

https%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2FMVcqFeJ.jpeg

So, basically adding an image to this forum via iPad is a lost cause. I tried to boot up my PC and... you guess it? Chrome froze and hung up on me like my ex when she dumped me back in the day. In the end, after several minutes, I was finally able to upload this bad handwriting. Enjoy!

Quite correct and a bonus for including the derivation of the orbital velocity. Only one slight nitpick. It's centrifugal force which acts against gravity. As you correctly pointed out, centripetal force is what causes an object to move in a circular path which in the case of a circular orbit is gravity. Centrifugal force is due to the inertia of an object in orbit causing it to want to move in a straight line. 

https%3A%2F%2Fimg1.wsimg.com%2Fisteam%2Fip%2Fa7fca0a...%2Frs%3Dw%3A1280

Luca Wrote: I do love to reply to idiotically complex questions