Re: Are chapter updates where it's just a break for illustrations or inserts of lore guide okay or do readers (...)

(Apologies in advance, this is a total newbie question, I'm sure!)

I saw a few stories that do it and I actually thought it was really cool, especially in some of the stories around here that have art inserts. I didn't know if there were any hard rules about minimum word counts per chapter or if it's acceptable to have chapter updates where it's basically just an illustration insert (sort of like if you have an illustration insert between chapters in a physical copy of a light novel.)

Similarly, I saw another story with a break between chapters for a lore guide insert and I also thought that was really neat. I wouldn't mind seeing that sort of thing with extended character profiles or other things that elaborate on people's worlds and characters.

If there's no rule against it, I would love to do that sort of thing, but not if it's frowned upon. 

Are there rules or reader expectations against making updates like that?

Re: Are chapter updates where it's just a break for illustrations or inserts of lore guide okay or do readers (...)

There are no rules against it, though a chapter needs a minimum of 500 words to be able to be published, I think. 

There are multiple novels that do things like this and whether or not it is acceptable, I'd say 'it depends'. If it happens too often for trivial information I didn't really care about, I'd dislike it. If it contains spoilers, please don't. If it answers some questions I had which may otherwise remain unanswered, yeah, sure. If it just looks very cool, I'm fine with it too.