Re: Non-Binary MCs and Representation

Robots, Aliens, Beasts, and the Eldritch, if these things in stories are allowed to be "beyond gender" in some form, who is to say that humans and other sapients are not?

While I agree that LGBT as a genre is entirely inaccurate, it would be nice to find similar accepting stories and that's why I decided to make this thread. I know that coming out and declaring your story as having representation can have negative effects, however, I truly believe that being able to find accepting stories is worth the risk.

I have no idea really how to add in pictures or much else on here, but I will go first. Hopefully, at some point, other authors with nonbinary representation or MCs simply beyond gender will reply to this thread with their own. There is likely a larger post for lgbt themes in general, but I wanted something a bit more specific as a non-binary author myself.

My story is named "Dwarves of Appalachia."

Synopsis: In a small town in the mountains of Kentucky our main character Jamie is suddenly awoken by a loud crashing noise. When they look outside they notice that the mountain their small town called home is now soaring high in the sky. With the recent return of magic to the world, this can only be a sign of more insanity to come. Not your normal Urban-fantasy with quirky characters simply trying to live their lives as magic settles into the world. Genies and Dragons can be found on a flying mountain packed to the brim with dwarves. With multiple non-binary characters in the main cast as well as more LGBT representation, accepting friends, and an etiquette obsessed opossum I hope you will take a look.

https://www.royalroad.com/fiction/28632/dwarves-of-appalachia

I like this thread. 

The story Aria of the Fallen has a nonbinary "character" in it and discussions about gender identity. It's done in an interesting way.