Re: What's a good way to avoid info dumps?

I try to keep my world building to one or two sentences top before jumping to something else. Treat the reader as if they already know everything the POV character knows, yeah there will be a learning curve but people catch on (eventually). Plus, to plant seeds you really only need one sentence to do so I think. That way it also isn't glaringly obvious what you are trying to do. Subtlety, something I'm still learning but I think it's the biggest part of world building- being subtle about it.

So then the question is, would your character do the info dumping? Most likely not. Do they know all of the information that you are telling people? If yes, then don't mention it unless something relevant to that specific piece of information shows up. Once it does, then you can sneak a bit of info dumping in and hope nobody calls you out on it 

If no, then have them struggle to learn about it. Is it something they'd even ask about? Do they misunderstand it? Does it interact with them? These are all fun things, especially if they misunderstand it initially and if you can write it where the reader has an idea that it was misunderstand- ah top notch there. 

So, an example I'm going to give is my story's magic. I've gone through a lot of thought on how it works, what it does, what it causes, symptoms of having magic, why it acts the way it does, the types etc etc. I could write at least 3k in info dumping about it (I actually think I have if you clump together all my brainstorming notes) but in my story I think the only thing I've actually told the readers was that it's there and it is a disease that can be fatal with maybe some hints on how it works. It's a huge plot point if I were to info dump it, and it'd def be planting the seeds for the plotline. It would also be growing those seeds.