Re: Requesting feedback

Hi, I'm very new to this writing lark - I've been writing two LitRPG stories privately for the last six months and recently posted the first few chapters on Royal Road (both are unfinished but fairly far in now).

One (Feral) has been reasonably well-received (note this doesn't mean I think it's 'popular' in terms of people reading it, I'm realistic - it's just not been shot to pieces) ... the other 'Wonderkid' hasn't managed to get many reads and the only rating so far has been a less than stellar half star.

Would someone mind just telling me if there is anything hugely flawed with the writing so far, please?

(I'll be completing both stories as I'm kinda stubborn ... and I'm really enjoying writing even if I still have a lot to learn :D ).

https://www.royalroad.com/fiction/28706/wonderkid

Thanks in advance for your help :)

One thing that might turn readers away is that your story blurb has two grammatical errors in the first sentence--two separate sentences connected by a comma, and both sentences are questions without a question mark.

I read through half of the first chapter and the writing isn't bad, but you do have a couple other spots where a sentence is actually two sentences and needs to be separated.

Considering you only started posting eight days ago, I think your view counts are fine, but if you're worried people are avoiding the story, I suspect it's the content more than anything that would turn them away, since RR readers are more interested in fantasy than sports.

From the little bit I've read, I highly doubt your story deserves a half-star rating, so I suspect someone trashed the story just because it's a genre they don't like.

But like I said, I don't think your view counts are doing that badly. You've got some readers. Off the top of my head, I'm not sure of any other sites that would be more welcoming of a GameLit/Sports combo. Maybe someone else would have an idea.