Re: Do you have any requirements to start reading a story?

I just started posting a new story a couple of weeks ago and, in that time, I've seen a lot of people say that they won't start reading a story before it has at least 100 pages or the author updates a certain amount of times a week, etc.

I was wondering, is this common? If so, what keeps you from starting a story and why?

I'm new to this whole web novel thing and, naturally, I want my story to reach more people, so I'd really appreciate the input! I've read a few guides and know that faster updating helps a lot, but was wondering if there's anything else that I can get better at. Thanks in advance!

I'm sure there will be a wide gamut of responses. 

I start by skimming the first paragraph or two, looking at grammar and syntax. If it's shoddy, I tend to head elsewhere right away. 

If it seems solid, then I'll look at the first couple chapters from a visual perspective. If they're very short (doesn't take more than one bump of the mouse scroll wheel to see the "Next" button), then I like to see a story with many chapters so that I know I'm not going to be finished in 10 minutes.  Just because a story has 62 chapters doesn't mean it's novel-length.

If the first few chapters look decently long (or the chapter count is really high), then I look at duration between uploads. If the chapters are small, I find myself expecting more frequent updates. If they're long, I don't mind the gap.

That said, and perhaps I'm old school, I still frequently prefer to be well under way before sinking my teeth in, so often I'll mark it but wait.  I'm like that with TV shows, as well. I prefer to wait for seasons to be available so I can binge, rather than tuning in once a week.  I've been challenging that attitude of mine the past year though, and am becoming more open to ongoing storylines.