Re: Advice thread on Writing LN and Webnovels

Hi All!

My name is Rob Paterson, and I'm the author of the book How to Write Light Novels and Webnovels. In my day job, I'm a college instructor who teaches Communications, Media Studies and Script-writing, and since I love Asian fiction I decided to spend a couple years writing a book about it. (At least, that's why I told the wife I was spending all my time reading through more Chinese, Korean, and Japanese novels than I can count...  Wink ) Since the book is out, I thought I'd make a thread here in case anyone has any questions about writing these kinds of stories that I can help with or wants advice.

Ask away!

Rob

P.S. It might take me a bit to get back to everyone, but I will!

I really liked what I saw of this book. The table of contents is very thorough and you've done a good job with it.

In particular I enjoyed your discussion of how successful web serials are action-focused, and the sample text you gave showing a traditional scene versus a beefed up action-oriented version of events. 

Very well done, and I'm adding this one to my list of resources and recommended titles. 

What’s the standard for numbers of words/sentences for a paragraph in LN? (I know they write it from top to bottom for each line, so the number of words are fairly low. But is there any standard to which they consider a line become too long?)

What are your thought about removing su-fix (-san/mister, -nim) or completely translating the words to English (gege/big brother in Mandarin) while writing a story about Asian character?

jaxonreed Wrote: I really liked what I saw of this book. The table of contents is very thorough and you've done a good job with it.

Thanks for the kind words, Jaxon! 

Quote:
In particular I enjoyed your discussion of how successful web serials are action-focused, and the sample text you gave showing a traditional scene versus a beefed up action-oriented version of events.