Re: Opening a small writing group...

I have been in a writing group before and have found when it is a small group of people all working in the same genre and together my work and theirs gets substantially better, as such I am making one. I am looking for three or four other people who write fantasy(epic, dark, high or what have you but no Litrpg)

I want this group to be for people who want to either get published or self publish and are willing to work for it and work together to improve everyone’s writing. I have self published several novels(under a pen name) and so while I can not say I am an expert I have done it once or twice so if I can help ask.

Now, for the group’s rules:

Workshopping rules 

1. Be descriptive not proscriptive -(look for places you were confused as a reader, not places where you say I know what you should do here) just remember it is not your book and that everyone has a different writing style.

2. Stay positive-( critical reviews and opinions are not only welcomed but also encouraged, so long as you point out flaws and give solutions and don’t just drag others down) share what is positive so that your fellow author knows what he or she is doing right as well as what they are doing wrong.

3. Discuss- we will be setting up a gdoc for every novel so that people can discuss topics as well as exchanging Skype numbers. Talk about what works, what doesn’t and why.

4. Don’t defend it- when someone is reading your work let them read and give their honest opinion about your work without your input, this is the best way to see what works and what does not. Your defense of the book while they read could change initial impressions and be damaging. Your goal is to get feedback from the writing group, not to convince them that you are a great writer.

5. Submit a minimum of a chapter a week- this one is crucial, submitting more is fine, submitting less is not(barring unforeseen events) if you miss too many then you will be out of the group.