Re: Looking for story feedback

Hello, I'm an author that just got back from a long hiatus (lack of motivation/college). I looked back at how I wrote my story and I felt like it could use some changes but I'm not sure how to do so. The story so far is a little large (10k+ words), but I was hoping someone could review mainly my two initial chapters and possibly my character development if possible. Thank you for your time.

Let's dive in then. I'll start by saying that I like the idea, having the sins as a sort of life coach is an interesting premise that can go a long way. You can easily spin this into an engaging story if you keep at it. As you may have surmised though, the story and your style could use a bit of work in some areas. As always, let's start with the simple fixes.

Layout. The main issue I'm seeing is that you don't put speech in a new line. If you write your dialogue like this "Cookies are fine"."Most delicious ever"."No, they cause the end of the world" it becomes very hard to follow along with who is talking. You'll want to include a linebreak when someone else starts talking.

Style. Still on the topic of speech. These linebreaks can use a lead-in with some description like this: Sarah's voice had a low rustle as she spoke, "Don't misjudge cookies" or they can end with a description: "They can start wars", she added with a smirk. If you're looking at a rapid-fire exchange between two people, you don't have to constantly write he said, she said - but will need to find ways to make it clear who is talking. Let's say three people are in a room, Sarah, Tom and Saskia. You can then shape your speech like this: "That's just nonsense, Sarah. Look, even your sister disagrees" - from context, it's obviously Tom.