Re: Can someone ask for a writer to start a series using a dropped story as the basis?

Question is in the title. So many series that just cut with no warning or even a response that were very entertaining. Would it be cheating or against ToS if someone was asked to start over and use a stopped premise if the original writer disappeared years ago with no word?
I REALLY miss https://www.royalroad.com/fiction/3041/new-game-plus but I'm a terrible writer. I go off on too many tangents all the times I've tried, and I use way too many info dumps.

Re: Can someone ask for a writer to start a series using a dropped story as the basis?

Well, technically you can ask authors to do that, but they really shouldn't be doing it. This gets into the territory of plagiarism. Yes, even if the author abandoned the original story. You could try it as fan fiction but sheesh, it's a minefield. 

Each author has their own voice and no matter how skilled the author, it will be immediately obvious that it's a different story either way. Unless you can get the original author to come back, you're not getting the story back, just something that acts like it. Worse, most authors make leaps and bounds while they learn to write, so even with the original author, it might not be the story you came to love. 
If you've read the Wheel of Time Series by Robert Jordan, you'll know precisely at which point Brandon Sanderson took over. It's still the same story and Sanderson did a great (*cough* better) job at it, but it felt like an entirely different beast. 

First there is a legal problem with this idea - the next author will need the OK from the original author or he will be breaking copyright.