Warning This fiction contains:
  • Gore
  • Profanity

Cheis of Veraleigh the Necromancer is a hero renowned throughout the realms, but that doesn't mean her social life is doing all that well -- she'd rather hunt monsters and write new spells than deal with the unpleasant reality of her impending middle age. But when an ancient evil awakens, she just may have to make up her mind about what she wants out of life -- and deal with what life wants out of her.

  • Overall Score
  • Style Score
  • Story Score
  • Grammar Score
  • Character Score
  • Total Views :
  • 50,237
  • Average Views :
  • 1,358
  • Followers :
  • 146
  • Favorites :
  • 63
  • Ratings :
  • 65
  • Pages :
  • 304
Advertisement
Remove
Go to Table of Contents
Rate it
Fiction breaking rules? Report
Advertisement
Remove
Author
AMBLE

AMBLE

Amateur Author, Professional Loon

Achievements
75,000 Views
50 Comments
500 Followers
Word Count (12)
Top List #1000
1st Anniversary
Advertisement
Remove

Leave a review

drakan_glasses BE NICE! Fair critique is fair, but be respectful & follow the review rules. There will be no mercy.
Reviews
Sort by:
Nebulaculous
Overall

Ante up, fantasy tropes

Reviewed at: Six

I like this adult fiction for several reasons, but the main one being that it dares to be a little different. It is firmly in the fantasy genre, but specs of modern reality flash into familiar roles, through the fantasy lense, in unique and creative ways. The sa tells a story about a homely girl with some deep seated issues (already bucking the norm), but also explains them as soon as he can and still have a coherent story. Action is portrayed with just enough sauce to keep it elegant but also readable and exciting. After reading a whole lot of Sanderson, Salvatore, and the like, this style so far seems to be plucked from the greatest hits albums of accomplished storytelling.

I want more

Charles
Overall

This was an incredible read; a step above most royal road stories, and even some professionally published ones. Having been reading pretty much exclusively royal road for the past year, it takes a lot to drag me away from my beloved progression fantasies and power p*rn novels, and this story was more than up for the task.

The grammar and spelling are essentially flawless, and the humor is delightfully dry and satirical. Also pretty much the first time I've actually enjoyed multiple viewpoints rather than being put off by them.

Literally only found this by pressing the "Surprise Me" button, and I feel so very lucky that I did. I'm just sad that I only came across it through luck, this story simply does not get the attention it deserves.

Dreamsteal
Overall

Nothing else to be said

Reviewed at: Seven

I laughed for a couple of minutes at this:

Spoiler: Spoiler

 If you like this type of absurd kinda gross humor, you will like this.

chaosprime
Overall
Style
Story
Grammar
Character

Grungy, juicy, exuberant fantasy

Reviewed at: Ten

The seed kernel of a dirtbag fantasy epic, Glen Cook by way of Terry Pratchett.

The setting appears to be a medieval society growing up amid the ruins of a high-necromancy empire of a sort where you'd expect sullenly resentful wage mages to grumble about their TPS reports at TGI Walpurgisnacht's.  The protag appears to be the old-fashioned, uncool kind of nerd who became massively overpowered through the power of nerdism as applied to the unmaintained wreckage of that empire's magical infrastructure.  She is in all ways delightful.

Character-centric, unabashedly enjoying itself, smoothly readable.  Love it, wanna know what's gonna happen!

ArahVhel
Overall

Magic scripting, and no seriousness to be found so far

Reviewed at: Four

4 chaps in. Pretty fun start, MC is op necromancer/programmer lady with a no nonsense attitude.

Evil stuff foreshadowed in a medieval fantasy world, check.

 

Flowing style, if a bit verbose.

I honestly cannot wait.

One advice I'd have for the author would be to dumb down the technical terms for the magic. 

However if the aim is to convey that magic is complicated af, I guess you could go worse than a programming theme for it.

Spoiler: Spoiler

 

Evonix
Overall
Style
Story
Grammar
Character

I see Glory and Terror and I scream and laugh

Reviewed at: Epilogue

I try to not fall prey to the grade inflation rampant on this site so it hopefully means something when I say I cannot rate this high enough. It is magnificent in ways difficult to describe and exactly my kind of story.

Imagine, if you will, this Calvin and Hobbes comic:https://m.imgur.com/zQSSz if it were a full novel written by Terry Pratchett, or perhaps a more misanthropic version who had been up all night drinking while reading a black hat CSS manual and listening to an eldritch horror podcast, gradually falling asleep while getting them mixed up. After waking up then wrote the whole story down in one go while hung over and some very strange dreams still blindingly vivid.

It's 3AM and I regret nothing.

A brief introduction: The main character is Cheis of Veraleigh, known as a very loosely heroic legendary arch-necromancer who's name alone is sufficient to send hardened warriors fleeing the country. This reputation doesn't even scratch the surface. Using an analytical mind, creative misuse of a sharpening spell causing a cognitive singularity, philosophy arising from a deep resentment of reality, scavenged documentation of the lost Empire of Shul and sheer bloody mindedness of the sort to topple gods she made herself into the greatest mage seen since the aforementioned Empire reduced itself to a blackened smear across the seabed. Capable of reaping the lifeforce of armies, cracking reality like tinder and reassembling it into forms incomprehensible to any minds that could fit inside a few pounds of three dimensional, temporally linear meat. This shall not be sufficient for what is to come, nowhere close.

I have much more to say but I don't want to spoil anything, it unfolds like the most spectacular, physics defying trainwreck and it's a delight to watch all the "trains" each start to pick up speed. The characters are each so creative and awesome yet you also feel embarrassed for them too as they do what makes perfect sense to them with their various collections of neurosis and without the reader's independent perspective.

NIDHOGGR
Overall

I very much recommend it to anyone looking to read a completed story about a very novel magic system. It features excellent world-building, and the characters are human enough to like, from the Necromancer to the Lich, to the Hero, and the brave child off on an adventure away from home.

luda305
Overall

Not Grimdark; Is Comedy

Reviewed at: Epilogue

To be clear, this story is not grimdark.  It's comedy, likely of an absurdist bent.  In the end everything works out, though by and large that's a matter of chance and happenstance rather than any agency on the part of the ensemble of protagonists. 

That said, you really have to be in the mood for absurdist humor or you'll find it rather blah, especially since terrible terrible things happen frequently.

VortexMagus
Overall

Quality story at the top of royal road.

Reviewed at: Epilogue

Surprised to see this story much lesser known. I would put the quality of it near the top of royal road, on par with stuff like Epilogue and Journey of Black and Red.

The story contains excellent character development, pacing, and plotting. It is well edited and proofread, with no grammar errors that I noticed.

The story also benefits from being fully completed with a quality ending. There is no filler or side chapters or interludes dragging on so the author can milk the algorithms for popularity.

As a consequence, Avaunt is an unusually high quality offering for royal road, better than many fully published authors.

Fans of Vainquer and Chrysalis and other slightly off-beat fantasy comedies would really enjoy this story. Would highly recommend this if you are looking for something light and fun.

General Sarcast
Overall

One of My Favorite Stories

Reviewed at: Epilogue

The comedy, the storytelling, the masterfull descriptions, the Perfection, that is Avaunt manages to hit all the right sweet-spots for me as a reader. It manages to be both effortlessly funny and dizzingly complex at the same time. The characters are fun and unique, so much so that I don't believe I disliked a single one, even one-off side characters get their moments to shine. 

This story was a Joy to read through, and my only regret is that I cannot directly support this writer. This sort of excellence should rightly be encourged and I look foward to what they will create next.

Well done to Amble for this masterpiece of a short fiction.